General English

General English

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

Gale Biography in Context For current UWest patrons only.

Get biographical information about prominent authors and critics. Includes the latest full text newspaper, journal articles, pictures, and multimedia files.

JSTOR (Arts & Science I-VII Collection) Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Contains articles from journals such as College English, College Composition and Communication, and American Literature.

LitFinder For current UWest patrons only.

Over 140,000 full-text poems, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 1,700 full-text plays, and 2,400 full-text speeches.

Literature Resource Center For current UWest patrons only.

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes access to the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

ProQuest Research Library For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Indexes more than 2,500 magazine and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Interfaces available for many languages. Includes Research Library, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Psychology Journals, and Dissertation/Thesis Abstracts.

Writer's Reference Center For current UWest patrons only. Trial database, give us your feedback!

Trial expires: 6/15/2020. Use User Name: distancelearning, Password:  trial

Related Videos

Research Companion For current UWest patrons only. Trial database, give us your feedback!

Trial expires: 6/30/2020. 10 easy-to-navigate multimedia learning modules that answer questions such as How do I choose a topic? Where do I find information? and How do I evaluate sources? These modules include 96 instructional videos, 192 assessment questions and four tools designed to walk users through the entire scholarly research process. 

The Critics: Stories from the Inside Pages For current UWest patrons only.

How do critics serve the public and the artistic community?

Related Books

Cambridge University Press (Textbooks, Companions, Elements, and Histories) Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Trial database, give us your feedback!

Trial expires: 5/31/2020. Check the ' Only search content I have access to' option for instantly accessible results.

English Grammar: Language as Human Behavior by Anita K Barry Physical item available at the library.

"Anita K. Barry's ENGLISH GRAMMAR makes students feel that they are active participants in shaping their language rather than passive victims of grammar rules..."

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

Encyclopedia Britannica For current UWest patrons only.

Contains full-text articles from Encyclopedia Britannica.