English Literature

Guides for English

General English
English for Business
English Literature
ESL
Pros and Cons Research
Public Speaking
TESOL
Shakespeare

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

English Literature

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

American Literary History For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.
Contemporary Literature For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.
MELUS For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

From the Society for the Study of the Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States.

World Literature Today For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Related Books

Drawing on the Victorians: The Palimpsest of Victorian and Neo-Victorian Graphic Texts
"... sets out to explore the relationship between Victorian graphic texts and today's steampunk, manga, and other neo-Victorian genres that emulate and reinterpret their predecessors."
How Novels Work Physical item available at the library.

"Drawing on his weekly Guardian column, 'Elements of Fiction', John Mullan examines novels mostly of the last ten years, many of which have become firm favourites with reading groups. He reveals the resources of novelistic technique, setting recent fiction alongside classics of the past.

How to Interpret Literature: Critical Theory for Literary and Cultural Studies Physical item available at the library.
Literary Theory and Criticism: An Oxford Guide Physical item available at the library.
Literary Theory: A Very Short Introduction Physical item available at the library.
Superheroes and Philosophy: Truth, Justice, and the Socratic Way Physical item available at the library.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism For current UWest patrons only.

Use the search bar to find entries within this title.

Why We Read Fiction: Theory of Mind and the Novel

"... a lucid overview of the most exciting area of research in contemporary cognitive psychology known as "Theory of Mind" and discusses its implications for literary studies."

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

LitFinder For current UWest patrons only.

Over 140,000 full-text poems, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 1,700 full-text plays, and 2,400 full-text speeches.

Literature Resource Center For current UWest patrons only.

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes access to the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.