Esl

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

To chat below, provide your contact info first in case of disconnection.

ESL


The following recommended resources are not necessarily all peer-reviewed. Check item entry or publisher for status.

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

MAS Ultra - School Edition For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines.

Primary Search For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

Encyclopedia Britannica For current UWest patrons only.

Look up thousands of different subjects and terms. Double-click on any word in an entry to check the definition.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia For current UWest patrons only.

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Apps and Programs

BBC Learning English

A language learning website to help you learn vocabulary in English and many other languages.

British Council: LearnEnglish

Interactive resources for learning English.

Busuu.com Individual registration required.

A language learning website to help you learn vocabulary in English and many other languages.

Duolingo Individual registration required.

Learn a new language via this online & mobile application.

ELSA Speaks Individual registration required.

An app that assists with English pronunciation.

Hello English Individual registration required.

An English learning app from over 21 different languages.

Memrise Individual registration required.

Uses pictures and memes to help you memorize many different levels of vocabulary.

USA Learns Individual registration required.

Provided by the Sacramento County Office of Education, a free website for adults to learn English. Here you can practice English speaking, reading, writing, listening, grammar, vocabulary and more.

Guides

The Purdue OWL: ESL Students

Purdue University's excellent guide to writing and more for ESL students.

Related Videos

Cutting Edge Communications Basic English Series Series For current UWest patrons only.

The Basic English series combines linguistics, psychology and instructional design. The programs build understanding and help learners practice real life English.

English: The Standard Deviants(r) Core Curriculum For current UWest patrons only.

The Basic English series combines linguistics, psychology and instructional design. The programs build understanding and help learners practice real life English.

Related Books