Plagiarism isn't just about copying and pasting. Learn in the following tutorial:
- What is plagiarism?
- What happens?
- How to avoid?
General Citing
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
General Citing
FAQs: Plagiarism 101, what you don't know.
📍 Plagiarism 101
FAQs: Which citation style should I use?
📍 Which citation style should I use?
- Check your syllabus to see if your professor has already specified the citation style you should be using for class assignments.
- If the syllabus does not specify, ask your professor.
Generally, psychology courses will use APA (American Psychological Association) style. English and business courses will use MLA (Modern Language Association) style. Chaplaincy and religious studies courses will use CMS (Chicago Manual of Style)--there are two Chicago styles, make sure to use the one that uses footnotes and bibliography.
FAQs: What is Turnitin and how does it work?
📍 What is Turnitin and how does it work?
This Plagiarism & Turnitin tutorial will contain information how to avoid plagiarism and what Turnitin does. If you have never used Turnitin before, you will also get an opportunity to try it out for yourself.
Guidelines
Citation Guides from Fairfield University's DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Includes APA, Chicago, and MLA. Look through the top tab to find your style, then select the item you want to cite at the left.
Citation Style Chart
This chart from Purdue University compares APA, MLA, and CMS styles on a easy to read chart. To download the chart, click on the link under the title that reads: Media File: Citation Style Chart.
Online Tools
Citation Builder
NC State University has a citation builder that creates citation in APA or MLA format. Remember you would still need to have in-text citation in your paper.
KnightCite
A bibliography composer from Calvin College that creates citations in the MLA, APA, and Chicago styles through an easy-to-use web form. This will only help you with your bibliography, remember, you still need to do in-text citations.
ZoteroBib
From the makers of Zotero, ZoteroBib lets you generate a bibliography online in any citation style and provides formatted in-text citation. No software download needed.
Sample Papers and Templates
APA Annotated and Sample Student Papers
Sample papers formatted in seventh edition APA Style, including one annotated (notes about what to pay attention to) and one in *.doc format that can be used as a template.
APA Style Sample Paper
What does a title page look like? Where does the page number go? What are the margins? Take a look at this sample paper from Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
MLA Style Sample Paper
What does a title page look like? Where does the page number go? What are the margins? Take a look at these sample papers from Purdue's Online Writing Lab:
Purdue OWL: Chicago Style Sample Paper
What does a title page look like? Where does the page number go? What are the margins? Take a look at these sample papers from Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
Bibliographic Management Software
Zotero
A bibliographic reference manager for gathering and organization citation information. An MS Word plugin can perform the cite-as-you-write function. Firefox, Chrome, and Safari plugins assist with gathering bibliographic information while researching online. Generates bibliographies in various citation styles with one click. More on how to use Zotero.
Annotated Bibliography
Purdue OWL: Annotated Bibliography
"...an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources." A guide to annotated bibliographies.
