American Psychological Association (apa) Style
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
American Psychological Association (APA) Style
Guidelines
Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
Go through an online tutorial on APA style, including how to format your papers and how to cite in the text and how to format your bibliography. Also find handouts on formatting and citation.
DiMenna-Nyselius Library: Citation Guides: APA
Look at examples of footnotes and bibliography formatting side by side.
Mohawk Valley Community College Citation & Style Guides
Guidelines and examples in PDF printable format, includes sample paper.
University of Wisconsin Writing Center APA Documentation
University of Wisconsin has a detailed guide how to to use APA style with a downloadable PDF.
Writing for Psychology: A Guide for Psychology Concentrators
An entire overview for writing a psychology paper. Including guidelines for APA.
Online Tools
Citation Builder
NC State University has a citation builder that creates citation in APA format. Remember you would still need to have in-text citation in your paper.
KnightCite
A bibliography composer from Calvin College that creates citations in the MLA, APA, and Chicago styles through an easy-to-use web form. This will only help you with your bibliography, remember, you still need to do in-text citations.
ZoteroBib
From the makers of Zotero, ZoteroBib lets you generate a bibliography online and provides formatted in-text citation. No software download needed.
Samples Papers and Templates
APA Annotated and Sample Student Papers
Sample papers formatted in seventh edition APA Style, including one annotated (notes about what to pay attention to) and one in *.doc format that can be used as a template.
APA Style Sample Paper
What does a title page look like? Where does the page number go? What are the margins? Take a look at this sample paper from Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
Bibliographic Management Software
APA: Zotero Examples
Examples of the types of item Zotero can cite in APA Style and what data to enter into each field.
ReferencePointSoftware.com
Purchase is required for this software. This is a full suite APA style software that integrates with a word processor. In addition to citations, it also assists with title pages, margins, and running heads.
Zotero
A bibliographic reference manager for gathering and organization citation information. An MS Word plugin can perform the cite-as-you-write function. Firefox, Chrome, and Safari plugins assist with gathering bibliographic information while researching online. Generates bibliographies in various citation styles with one click. More on how to use Zotero.
Foreign Languages
Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources
This guide from Yale gives an overview of how to cite Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources.
