Chicago Manual Of Style (cms)
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
Chicago Manual of Style (CMS)
Guidelines
DiMenna-Nyselius Library: Citation Guides: Chicago Citations: Notes-Bibliography System
Look at examples of footnotes and bibliography formatting side by side.
Mohawk Valley Community College Citation & Style Guides
Guidelines and examples in PDF printable format.
New York University Libraries - Chicago
A very handy one page chart of how to cite in Chicago style.
Notes-Bibliography
From University of Wisconsin, this is a handy guide that comes with examples. Includes info on subsequent notes for in-text citing.
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Very detailed in-depth coverage on how to use Chicago (Turabian) style in papers, starting from the Title Page and beyond.
Online Tools
KnightCite
A bibliography composer from Calvin College that creates citations in the MLA, APA, and Chicago styles through an easy-to-use web form. This will only help you with your bibliography, remember, you still need to do in-text citations.
ZoteroBib
From the makers of Zotero, ZoteroBib lets you generate a bibliography online and provides formatted in-text citation. No software download needed.
Samples Papers and Templates
Purdue OWL: Chicago Style Sample Paper
What does a title page look like? Where does the page number go? What are the margins? Take a look at these sample papers from Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
Bibliographic Management Software
Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Zotero Examples
Examples of the types of item Zotero can cite in Chicago Style and what data to enter into each field.
Zotero
Zotero can help you cite as you write and generate a bibliography in any version of Chicago style, including author-date, note, full note. Note vs. Full Note: Full Note contains all the bibliographic information inside the footnote along with the cited page number. Note contains only the essential author and title info along with the cited page number (see example https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/chicago_style_versions). More on how to use Zotero.
Foreign Languages
Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources
This guide from Yale gives an overview of how to cite Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources in Chicago style.
