Modern Language Association (mla) Style

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

To chat below, provide your contact info first in case of disconnection.

Modern Language Association (MLA) Style

Online Tools

BibMe: Fast & Easy Bibliography Maker

An easy to use bibliography maker (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago). Allows you to search online for the item so it can pre-fill the item fields for you. Does not provide in-text citation. Bibliographies can be saved once you register for an account. Please note that for bibliographies, MLA, Turabian and Chicago styles use Title Case (also known as Headline Case) to capitalize titles, APA uses sentence case--you will need to change this manually.

Citation Builder

NC State University has a citation builder that creates citation in MLA format. Remember you would still need to have in-text citation in your paper.

KnightCite
A bibliography composer from Calvin College that creates citations in the MLA, APA, and Chicago styles through an easy-to-use web form. This will only help you with your bibliography, remember, you still need to do in-text citations.

Guidelines

Citation Guides MLA

A guide from DiMenna-Nyselius Library, look at examples of footnotes and bibliography formatting side by side.

MLA Documentation Style

University of Wisconsin's guide to Modern Language Association style. Navigate with the menu on the right side of the page. Check their in-text citation guide here.

Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide

From Purdue Online Writing Lab. Shortcuts to the contents are in the menu at the left, including In-text citation (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/02/), Works Cited (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/05/), Sample Works Cited Page (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/12/), and Sample Formatted Paper (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/13/).

Samples Papers and Templates

MLA Style

What does a title page look like? Where does the page number go? What are the margins? Take a look at these sample papers from Purdue's Online Writing Lab:

Bibliographic Management Software

Zotero

A bibliographic reference manager for gathering and organization citation information. An MS Word plugin can perform the cite-as-you-write function. Firefox, Chrome, and Safari plugins assist with gathering bibliographic information while researching online. Generates bibliographies in various citation styles with one click. More on how to use Zotero.