General Databases
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
General Databases
Find Articles and Reports
Base: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
A multidisciplinary search engine to find scholarly materials. Developed by Bielefeld University in Germany.
Brill Books and Journals Online 
Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences. Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All. A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.
Digital Commons Network
Includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
JSTOR (Collection I-VII)
UWest subscribes to JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections I-VII. These collections contain journals with full text articles in language and literature, as well as important titles in the fields of economics, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Non-UWest users can access certain articles in the Register and Read program.
ProQuest Research Library (All ProQuest) 
Indexes more than 2,500 magazine and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Interfaces available for many languages. Includes all ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest PsycTests, PsycARTICLES, and Dissertation/Thesis Abstracts.
Semantic Scholar
This search engine can help you "home in on key publications, citation, and results..." on your topic. Once you hone in an article, there are automatic recommendations to other related citations, sorted by influence.
