Advertising

Advertising

FAQ: How to find information about an ad campaign?

📍 Using Google Scholar to find articles on your topic

If you are not already logged in to your library account, you will be sent to the login page. This helps verify that you, as a UWest library patron, are allowed to use the version of Google Scholar that is linked with UWest databases.

 

 

 

 

 

📍 Using ABI/Inform Collection to get info about an ad campaign

Example: Company: Southwest Airlines, ad campaign: Transfarency.

If you're not sure how to get started, start with your topic and use a database to find articles and reports. ABI/Inform Collection is the largest business database we have that we recommend!

 

After you click on the ABI/Inform Collection link, if you are not already logged in to your library account, you will be sent to the login page. This helps verify that you, as a UWest library patron, are allowed to use this database.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FAQ: How to find examples of a specific type of ad campaign?

📍 How to find a list of popular ad campaigns of a specific type?

Example assignment: You need to do a paper or report on an advertising campaign that uses Integrated Marketing Communications. So you want to find some popular examples, because those will have more analysis and data available. Then you can pick one to write about.

In this beginning step, you're not really looking for in-depth analysis or academic research yet, just a popular or award-winning list to choose from.

Option 1: Google is a good way to find out what's popular.

The idea is to use your important words to search, your KEYWORDS. The quotation marks around "integrated marketing communications" tell the search that you want results that mention those three word together, in a specific order, that exact phrase.

After you've picked out a company and its campaign, then you want to shift your research to analysis by industry professionals and academic researchers, not just any website that has an opinion (remember the CRAAP test when it comes to evaluating your sources). So instead of continuing to use Google, go to a business database such as the ABI/Inform Collection or Google Scholar @ UWest. If you are not sure how to use these databases, view a quick guide on how to find information about an ad campaign with ABI/Inform Collection or Google Scholar.

Option 2: Discover award-winning campaigns in the ad showcases and databases:

  • American Advertising Awards 2020 (Past winners): Look under each category at the top and find entries relevant to the type of campaign you're looking for. In this assignment example, you're looking for 'Integrated' campaigns:

You can find factual details about each ad under its entry. For more in-depth information, shift your research to analysis by industry professionals and academic researchers, not just any website that has an opinion (remember the CRAAP test when it comes to evaluating your sources). Go to a business database such as the ABI/Inform Collection or Google Scholar @ UWest. If you are not sure how to use these databases, view a quick guide on how to find information about an ad campaign with ABI/Inform Collection or Google Scholar.

📍 How to examples of award winning or top ads by category?

Check out the following links from our Ad Databases:

  1. American Advertising Awards
  2. Clio Awards
  3. AdForum's Best of

FAQ: How to analyze an ad campaign?

📍 Find an example of an in-depth analysis of a phenomenon in a specific company/organization/place.

The keyword you should use to find these types of in-depth analysis is case study, wherein a specific instance of __________________ is studied and analyzed.

Example: You want to find a case study of the use of Integrated Marketing Communications.

 

A strategy you might use is to search your topic first without "case study," and use the Document Type filter for Case Study. If you don't get a result you can use, then remove the "Case Study" filter and add "case study" to your search instead.

 

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

ABI/Inform Collection For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Covers articles from such periodicals as Journal of Advertising and Advertising Age.

Ad Databases

Ad Council Campaigns

The Ad Council is a private, non-profit organization that delivers critical messages to the American public via public awareness advertising campaigns.

Ad*Access

"Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955."

AdForum: Creative Library Mixed abstract and full-text.

Examples of print and video advertisements & campaigns along with their perspective agencies. Access to certain areas requires individual subscription with additional cost.

AdViews

"The AdViews digital collection consists of thousands of television commercials created or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles advertising agency from the 1950s through the 1980s for a diverse range of clients including General Foods, Proctor & Gamble, Pillsbury, Anheuser-Busch, Pan-American World Airways, Mattel, and Nestle."

Ads of the World

Ads of the world and their agencies.

Advertising Archives

Examples of print advertisements.

American Advertising Awards

"The American Advertising Awards is the advertising industry's largest and most representative competition, attracting nearly 35,000 entries every year in local AAF competitions. The mission of the American Advertising Awards is to recognize and reward the creative spirit of excellence in the art of advertising."

Clio

The industry award for outstanding advertisements.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920

"Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."

History of Advertising Trust

The largest archive of British advertising in the world.

Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions (ROAD)

"Resource for Outdoor Advertising Database 2.0 is a portal to more than 30,000 out of home advertisements from five unique source collections.  See also the original ROAD metadata only database that contains descriptions of over 50,000 images of outdoor advertising dating between the 1920s and the 1990s.  Metadata includes advertiser company, product, placement company, date if known, and medium."

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Advertising Age Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

A trade magazine with industry news regarding advertising campaigns and media activity for popular brands.

Adweek Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

A weekly trade magazine with industry news about advertising and public relations.

Brandweek For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Covering the word of marketing and ad campaigns from 1992 - 2011. Merged into Adweek.

Campaign Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

A trade magazine with industry news on advertising campaigns.

Campaign Asia-Pacific Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

A trade magazine with industry news regarding advertising campaigns in the Asia Pacific.

Journal of Advertising For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

From the American Academy of Advertising, "the premier academic publication covering significant intellectual development pertaining to advertising theories and their relationship with practice."

Marketing Week Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

A trade magazine.

MediaWeek For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

A weekly magazine that focuses on advertising and the media. Merged into Adweek in 2011.

Response : Multi - Channel Direct Advertising Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

An advertising trade magazine.

Young Consumers For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

"...offers ideas, insights and information on key issues across the whole youth market, from the initial stages of preparing for parenthood to kids, tweenies, teenagers and young people up to the age of 24."

Related Reports

Digital Content Next: Research

DCN is a nonprofit trade organization representing media companies that produce digital content. Its research reports often include insights to consumer behavior of digital content and digital advertising.

Internet Trends Report

Since 2004, the Meeker Internet Trends report has looked at the global trends of internet use.

Related Videos

Marketing: Secrets of Branding For current UWest patrons only.

In this program, ad agency experts share their insight into how compelling messages are crafted. A BBC Production.

Professional Associations and Organizations