Military Chaplains

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

To chat below, provide your contact info first in case of disconnection.

Military Chaplains


The following recommended resources are not necessarily all peer-reviewed. Check item entry or publisher for status.

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

ATLA Religion Database For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.
Includes journals such as Journal of Church and State, Pastoral Psychology, and The Journal of Pastoral Theology​.
Defense Technical Information Center

DTIC provides research data and reports funded by the US Department of Defense. Includes academic research from military schools and service academies.

Government, Politics & Law Collection (TRIAL) For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text. Trial database, give us your feedback!

Includes these databases: Religion and the Law, U.S. Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, and Pentagon Papers. This trial ends on 3/14/2018. If you find this collection or any individual databases useful, please let us know.

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.

Organizations

Defense Logistics Agency: Office of the Chaplain

"Provide religious logistics support for Religious Affairs personnel, enabling the free exercise of religion across the Department of Defense. Provide confidential pastoral care and support to DLA employees."

Department of Veterans Affairs: Patient Care Services: National Chaplain Center

"...empower Department of Veterans Affairs Chaplains in the achievement of excellence in meeting the Spiritual Healthcare needs of Veterans."

Guides

Centuries of Service: Military Chaplains

This site both celebrates and illuminates the history of the US Military Chaplains. These men and women have dedicated their lives to our country and have served the soldiers, sailors and airmen as well as families by guiding and comforting all in religious and spiritual matters.

Defense Technical Information Center

Search more than 1 million final reports on Defense funded research, development, test and evaluation activities, using the search box above.

Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library

The Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) is a comprehensive military research center supporting the Army Command and General Staff College. It also serves as the post library for the Fort Leavenworth community.

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Clinician's Trauma Update Online (CTU-Online)

CTU-Online includes brief updates on the latest clinically relevant research on trauma. Hosted by the US Department of Veterans Affairs.

Related Books

Centuries of Service: Military Chaplains

"...we have digitized 52 titles, including the majority of official Chaplain Histories issued by the Armed Services and 23 chaplain interviews published by the US Navy. A modest addition to these thousands of digital pages was added: historic hymnals; a history of the Chaplains during the American Revolutionary War published in 1861; and two foreign accounts of non-American Chaplains in World War I."

Related Videos

The Big Picture: The Army Chaplain -- Yesterday and Today For current UWest patrons only.

"...produced by the U.S. Army, readers are introduced to the Army Chaplain’s everyday role as spiritual leader in past and modern wars. Footage in this documentary has been provided by the National Archives and Records Administration."