General Buddhism

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

To chat below, provide your contact info first in case of disconnection.

General Buddhism

Databases (Find Articles)

ATLA Religion Database For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Includes titles such as Pacific World, The Eastern Buddhist, and the Pure Land.

Academic Search Elite For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Contains a core collection of journals--including Contemporary Buddhism, Journal of the American Oriental Society,  Journal of the American Academy of Religion, Religion East & West.

Digital Library & Museum of Buddhist Studies Mixed abstract and full-text.

Aims to cover many different online resources for the study of Buddhism. Including canons, journal articles, dissertations, and more.

EthicShare Abstract only.

A comprehensive collection of ethics resources including searchable research materials. Click 'Find in a Library' in your search results to find a copy of the material in our library.

INBUDS: Indian and Buddhist Studies Treatise Database Mixed abstract and full-text.

Bibliographic database of articles & books published in Japan. Includes articles in many languages, including English.

JSTOR Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Includes titles such as: The Journal of Asian Studies, Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, Journal of the American Academy of Religion, Numen, Inner Asia, and more.

ProQuest Religion For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Indexes more than 2,500 magazine and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Interfaces available for many languages. Includes Research Library, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Psychology Journals, and Dissertation/Thesis Abstracts.

Dissertations & Theses

佛教相關博碩士論文提要檢索系統 Abstract only.

Searchable index of Buddhist dissertations from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and China.

臺灣博碩士論文知識加值系統 Abstract only.

National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only.

A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources with indices to other major Buddhist dictionaries. Non-UWest patrons can login with "guest."

Encyclopedia of Religion For current UWest patrons only.

Includes explanations of Buddhist terms and concepts.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by Stanford University.

仏教用語用例集

Correspondences of Buddhist canonical terms (with canonical and textual references) in Japanese, Chinese, English, Sanskrit, Tibetan. Thus far focusing on terms found in: Abhidharma-kośa 倶舎論 and Mahāyāna śatadharmā-prakāśamukha śāstra 大乗百法明門論.

佛學規範資料庫 Buddhist Studies Authority Database Project

Cross referencing names of people, places, and time in the Buddhist literature.

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Buddhist Studies Review Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only.

BSR is the journal of the UK Association for Buddhist Studies. The journal publishes scholarly and peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of Buddhism. There are multiple holdings of this journal. One is UWest only.

Contemporary Buddhism For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Publishes articles on the current state of Buddhism from across the human sciences.

Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

A publication of the International Association of Buddhist Studies.

Related Maps

Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative

"The Cultural Atlas Portal links examples of cultural atlases developed globally into a Web Site. The ECAI Clearinghouse is a collection of spatio-temporal datasets and TimeMap mapspaces. Other useful information include other related & featured projects."