Japanese Buddhism

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

Japanese Buddhism

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

CiNii

Find academic articles published in Japanese academic journals.

INBUDS: Indian and Buddhist Studies Treatise Database

Bibliographic database of Buddhism related articles & books published in Japan. Includes articles in many languages, including English.

Japanese Institutional Repositories Online

Dissertations, journal articles, and white papers from Japanese educational institutions.

NDL Integrated Search

Searches not just the National Diet Llibrary, but libraries, archives, museums, and academic institutions in Japan.

Image Databases

Kyoto University Digital Library: Rare Materials Exhibition

Scanned gallery exhibitions of rare materials, including books, illustrations, and historical documents.

National Diet Library Digital Collections

Searches digital images and scans of Japanese books and periodicals.

Online Resource for Japanese Archaeology and Cultural Heritage

"...an English-language interactive tool for teachers and students interested in incorporating the wonders of early Japan in teaching and learning across a range of subjects including history, geography, environment, cuisine and religious studies."

The Hyakugo Archives

"東寺百合文書 (Toji Hyakugo Monjo) refers to a collection of medieval Japanese documents originally preserved at Toji, a Buddhist temple in Kyoto. The huge collection comprises nearly 25,000 documents spanning roughly 1,000 years, from the 8th to 18th centuries. The bulk of the collection dates from the 14th and 15th centuries." All items have been digitized and are available via this website.

Chinese Buddhist Canon

Bibliography of Translations from the Chinese Buddhist Canon into Western Languages

This is a working bibliography of translations of Chinese Buddhist texts from the Taishō edition of the canon into Western languages. Some translations of extra-canonical Chinese Buddhist texts are included.

SAT Daizōkyō Text Database

Full text of 85 volumes of Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō (大正新脩大藏經). Text is searchable and helpful tools include auto-searching the Digital Dictionary of Buddhism and cross referencing to the English canon from Bukkyo Dendo Kyokai (BDK).

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Asian Ethnology

Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only.

"...seeks to deepen understanding and further the pursuit of knowledge about the peoples and cultures of Asia."

Japanese Journal of Religious Studies

"...semi-annual journal dedicated to the academic study of Japanese religions."

The Eastern Buddhist

"...carries articles on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers."

The Pure Land

A publication of the International Association of Shin Buddhist Studies.

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

East Asian Information Literacy Tutorial

A series of short video tutorials on researching with Chinese, Japanese, and Korean topics and languages.

Japan Past & Present

Includes readings lists about: Japanese Buddhist Art & Architecture and Buddhist Relics and Reliquaries.

Japanese Historical Maps

"...contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World."

仏教用語用例集

Correspondences of Buddhist canonical terms (with canonical and textual references) in Japanese, Chinese, English, Sanskrit, Tibetan. Thus far focusing on terms found in: Abhidharma-kośa 倶舎論 and Mahāyāna śatadharmā-prakāśamukha śāstra 大乗百法明門論.