Theravada Buddhism

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

Theravada Buddhism

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

South Asia Open Archives
"...a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia."

South Asia Research Documentation Services 3 (SARDS3)

"...an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc."

Southeast Asian Archaeology Bibliographic Database

"...an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc."

Pali Canon

Access to Insight

A popular Theravada Buddhist website providing access to a huge collection of translated texts from the Tipitaka, as well as contemporary materials published by the Buddhist Publication Society and many teachers from the Thai Forest Tradition. Includes guide to Pali abbreviation and sutta reference numbers.

Bibliotheca Polyglotta: Pāli Tipiṭaka
Online searchable database of Sixth Council edition of the Pali Canon digitized by the Vipāssana Research Institute in India.

Digital Database of Buddhist Tripitaka Catalogues 佛教藏經目錄數位資料庫

A collection of multi-lingual Tripitaka catalogues. "There are 22 editions and about 33,700 catalogs from Chinese Buddhist Tripitaka, including the stone carved "Fangshan Shijing". The Tibetan Buddhist Tripitaka has about 4,569 catalogues, the Pali Tipitaka has 7,003 catalogues of Nikaya and Agama suttas, and there are also Sanskrit catalogs, deriving mainly from the manuscripts found in Central Asia."

Jātaka Stories

A free online searchable database of jātakas in Indian texts and art.

Sixth Council edition of Pali Canon
Online searchable database of Sixth Council edition of the Pali Canon digitized by the Vipāssana Research Institute in India.

Sutta Central

Sutta central provides the Pali Buddhist Canon with detailed references, parallels between texts, and original texts and translations. Includes many useful tools and links.