Korean Buddhism

Guides for Buddhist Studies

General Buddhism
American Buddhism
Chinese Buddhism
Japanese Buddhism
Korean Buddhism
Tibetan Buddhism
Mahayana Buddhism
Theravada Buddhism
Vajrayana Buddhism
Buddhist Arts
Buddhist Canon
Buddhism and Christianity
Buddhism and Hinduism
Buddhism and Islam
Buddhism and Judaism
Buddhism and Business
Buddhism and Ecology
Buddhism and Psychology
Buddhism and Women

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

Korean Buddhism

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

DBPia Mixed abstract and full-text. Individual registration required.

Database of journal articles published by major Korean research institutions. Some articles are freely accessible with account registration. For items that charge fees, you may request the item from the document delivery/interlibrary loan service.

RISS International Mixed abstract and full-text.

Korean scholarly search engine, includes Korean dissertations.

Not all items with 'Full-text' has free open access full-text. If you are unable to download the PDF, please use the citation information to request it from us.

국회전자도서관 (National Assembly Library) Mixed abstract and full-text.

South Korea's National Assembly Library.

Chinese Buddhist Canon

Bibliography of Translations from the Chinese Buddhist Canon into Western Languages Abstract only.

This is a working bibliography of translations of Chinese Buddhist texts from the Taishō edition of the canon into Western languages. Some translations of extra-canonical Chinese Buddhist texts are included.

SAT Daizōkyō Text Database

Full text of 85 volumes of Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō (大正新脩大藏經). Text is searchable and helpful tools include auto-searching the Digital Dictionary of Buddhism and cross referencing to the English canon from Bukkyo Dendo Kyokai (BDK).

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

East Asian Information Literacy Tutorial

A series of short video tutorials on researching with Chinese, Japanese, and Korean topics and languages.

伽山佛敎大辭林 For current UWest patrons only. Physical item available at the library.

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Asian Ethnology Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only.

"...seeks to deepen understanding and further the pursuit of knowledge about the peoples and cultures of Asia."

Journal of Korean Religions Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.
The Eastern Buddhist Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

"...carries articles on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers."

Related Books

Citing with Chicago Manual of Style

Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources

This guide from Yale gives an overview of how to cite Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources in Chicago style.