Chinese Buddhism
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
Chinese Buddhism
Databases (Find Articles and Reports)
Catalog Database of Republican Era Buddhist Journals 『民 國 佛 教 期 刊 文 獻 集 成』 - 書目資料庫 
This database contains records for over 140,000 articles published in Chinese Buddhist Journals of the Republican Era (1911-1949). These are all articles collected in the Minguo fojiao qikan wenxian jicheng 民國佛教期刊文獻集成, (Complete Collection of Republican-Era Buddhist Periodical Literature) (MFQ), and its supplement the Minguo fojiao qikan wenxian jicheng bubian 民國佛教期刊文獻集成．補編, (MFQB).
Database of Modern Chinese Buddhism 近代中國佛教檢索
A collaborative gathering of information related to Buddhism in China between 1850 and 1950 CE.
FoGuangPedia Collection
FoGuangPedia 佛光百科 is a collaborative platform for understanding, researching, discussing and sharing information on Humanistic Buddhism 人間佛教, Venerable Master Hsing Yun's works and collections 星雲大師文集, Fo Guang Shan's terminologies 佛光山詞彙, Buddhism Q&A 佛學問答, Buddhist translations, and many others information and topics related to the propagation of Humanistic Buddhism in English. Also: academic papers, books, Venerable Master Hsing Yun's collections, newsletters, FGS translations, ritual & ceremony, Ch'an meditation materials,lectures, teaching materials, etc.
HKInChiP 香港中文期刊論文索引 
A database which indexes Chinese/English journal articles published in Hong Kong.
《瑜伽師地論》資料庫
瑜伽師地論》(Yogācārabhūmi) 是印度大乘佛教瑜伽行派和中國法相宗之源流，亦是玄奘西行取經求法之動機。內容記載著瑜伽師（禪師）的修行階位與境界之百科全書。
本資料庫採用TEI的標籤集(tag sets)，標記(markup)《瑜伽師地論》之異譯本、注釋書、梵文原典、藏譯本等電子資料，將其結構特色(structural features)作互參(cross-reference) 標記，以便相互對照。
國家圖書館期刊文獻資訊網 NCL Taiwan Periodical Literature
A database which indexes Chinese/English journal articles published in Hong Kong.
🏛️ On campus only: National Center for Philosophy and Social Science Documentation 国家哲学社会科学文献中心 
A national Chinese database with full text articles in philosophy and social sciences.
⚠️ On Campus use only.
Off Campus/Non-UWest users can access articles by signing up for an individual account through this link.
Chinese Buddhist Canon
Authority Database of Buddhist Tripitaka Catalogues 佛經目錄規範資料庫
From the Buddhist Studies Authority Database Project 佛學規範資料庫, cross referencing various editions of the Buddhist canon in Buddhism.
Bibliography of Translations from the Chinese Buddhist Canon into Western Languages
This is a working bibliography of translations of Chinese Buddhist texts from the Taishō edition of the canon into Western languages. Some translations of extra-canonical Chinese Buddhist texts are included.
Buddhanexus
Helps to "locate in the various texts and textual corpora (approximate) textual matches and to study them from various angles."
CBETA Chinese Electronic Tripitaka Collection 電子佛典
Software for reading and searching through the Chinese Canon.
Chinese Buddhist Canonical Attributions database
The aim of the database is to record information about ascriptions of Chinese Buddhist texts, especially in the very many cases in which scholars have questioned received ascriptions (as embodied, for example, in Taishō bylines).
Chinese Buddhist Canonical Attributions database (CBC@)
"As we have received them, the texts of the Chinese Buddhist canon (usually accessed via the Taishō edition), and other Chinese Buddhist texts, are rife with problems of incorrect attribution and dating. It is therefore imperative that scholars vigorously exercise critical awareness with regard to traditional attributions and dates. However, it is often difficult for individual scholars to keep abreast of evidence, arguments and judgments in primary literature and secondary scholarship, which might bear on the critical assessment of attributions or dates for individual texts. The Chinese Buddhist Canonical Attributions database (CBC@) is a user-contributor reference tool designed to help scholars collaborate to keep track of information regarding such questions."
Digital Database of Buddhist Tripitaka Catalogues 佛教藏經目錄數位資料庫
A collection of multi-lingual Tripitaka catalogues. "There are 22 editions and about 33,700 catalogs from Chinese Buddhist Tripitaka, including the stone carved "Fangshan Shijing". The Tibetan Buddhist Tripitaka has about 4,569 catalogues, the Pali Tipitaka has 7,003 catalogues of Nikaya and Agama suttas, and there are also Sanskrit catalogs, deriving mainly from the manuscripts found in Central Asia."
Thesaurus Literaturae Buddhicae
"...a multilingual presentation of Buddhist literature sentence by sentence in Sanskrit, Chinese, Tibetan, English, etc." Texts can be read in parallel, sentence by sentence or via search.
WWW Database of Chinese Buddhist texts
"...a comprehensive list of Chinese Buddhist texts. It currently contains 4418 texts by 1513 authors/translators/compilers." -- Introduction.
Chinese Classic Texts
Chinese Text Project
An online digital library that makes pre-modern (pre-Qin and Han, post-Han) Chinese texts available online. Includes annotations, overlayed dictionary entries, references, English translations, and more.
MARKUS
"With MARKUS you can upload a file in classical Chinese (and perhaps in the future other languages) and tag personal names, place names, temporal references, and bureaucratic offices automatically. You can also upload your own list of key terms for automated tagging. You can then read a document while checking a range of reference works at the same time, or compare passages in which the same names or keywords appear." Check its research blog examples of how the data extracted from this tool is used.
Dissertations & Theses
Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)
A Chinese Translation of A.P. Buddhadatta's "Concise Pali-English Dictionary" : Digital Edition
The translation was made from the second edition (1958) of A.P. Buddhadatta's "Concise Pali-English Dictionary". First published in Colombo, this edition is now available as reprint (Delhi: Motilal Barnasidass) 294 pgs.
Buddhist Studies Person Authority Databases 人名規範資料庫
From the Buddhist Studies Authority Database Project 佛學規範資料庫, cross referencing names of important individuals in Buddhism.
Buddhist Studies Place Authority Databases 地名規範資料庫
From the Buddhist Studies Authority Database Project 佛學規範資料庫, cross referencing names of important geographic locations in Buddhism.
ChinaKnowledge.de: An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
Edited by Dr. U. Theobald, Senior Lecturer, Department of Chinese Studies, University of Tübingen, Germany.
DDBC Glossaries Search
From the Dharma Drum Institute of Liberal Arts, this online search engine searches for terms across multiple Buddhist dictionaries and glossaries.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism 
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources with indices to other major Buddhist dictionaries. Unlimited search available via link above.
- Non-UWest patrons can login with "guest" (limited to 10 searches per day)
- Android app: DDB Access (unlimited search does not work off campus, use 'guest' to make up to 10 searches)
East Asian Information Literacy Tutorial
A series of short video tutorials on researching with Chinese, Japanese, and Korean topics and languages.
NTI Buddhist Text Reader
A general purpose Chinese text reader and Chinese-English dictionary with an emphasis on Buddhist terminology.
Southeast Asia in the Ming Shi-lu
An English translation of the Ming Shi-lu, which can be searched and browsed by year.
The China Historical Geographic Information System
"...a free database of placenames and historical administrative units for the Chinese Dynasties."
Time Authority Database 時間規範資料庫
From the Buddhist Studies Authority Database Project 佛學規範資料庫, cross referencing calendars and measurements of time in Buddhist literature.
Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)
Asian Ethnology
"...seeks to deepen understanding and further the pursuit of knowledge about the peoples and cultures of Asia."
Dao: A Journal of Comparative Philosophy
A journal of the Association of Chinese Philosophers in America.
Journal of Chinese Buddhist studies 中華佛學學報
"...a scholarly journal dedicated to the historical study of Chinese Buddhism in the premodern and modern periods."
The Eastern Buddhist
"...carries articles on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers."
Related Books
Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection
Chinese-language printed books and bound manuscripts produced before 1796.
Citing with Chicago Manual of Style
Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources
This guide from Yale gives an overview of how to cite Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources in Chicago style.
