General Religious Studies

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

To chat below, provide your contact info first in case of disconnection.

General Religious Studies

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

ATLA Religion Database For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Includes titles such as Society for the Study of Chinese Religions Bulletin and Journal of Chinese Religions.

Association of Religious Data Archives

Data and reports on religion around the world.

Gale Biography in Context For current UWest patrons only.

Get biographical information about religious figures. Includes the latest full text newspaper, journal articles, pictures, and multimedia files.

PhilPapers Mixed abstract and full-text.

"PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers."

PhilSci Archive

A preprint server hosting unpublished articles on the philosophy of science. Preprint articles are made available online to receive feedback before submission to journals.

ProQuest Religion For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

ProQuest Research Library For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Indexes more than 2,500 magazine and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Interfaces available for many languages. Includes Research Library, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Psychology Journals, and Dissertation/Thesis Abstracts.

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

Database of Religious History

"...the world’s first comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history." Select the 'browse' link to begin your search.

Encyclopedia of Religion For current UWest patrons only.

This is the online version of the second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia (physical version also available: http://uwest.worldcat.org/oclc/56057973). Comes with searchable full text entries, with information intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by Stanford University.

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Numen For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

This is a journal published by the International Association for the History of Religions.

Databases (Find Images)

Shared Shelf Commons

"Discover images from libraries, archives, and museums around the world."