General Psychology

General Psychology


The following recommended resources are not necessarily all peer-reviewed. Check item entry or publisher for status.

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

Academic Search Elite For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Contains a core collection of academic journals--including Counseling Psychology Quarterly, Journal of Clinical Psychology, Journal of Individual Psychology, etc.

BioMed Central

Search for articles within over 290 open access and peer-reviewed journals from the subjects of biology and medicine. Journals are published by Springer Nature, a scientific and scholarly publishing company.

CiteSeerX Mixed abstract and full-text.

This search engine covers articles from many different topics, with a focus on scientific literature.

Cognitive Classics Abstract only.

"Cognitive Classics is a platform for classicists and others interested in cognitive approaches to the humanities." Two bibliographies focusing on how knowledge and thought is processed by the brain.

Digital Commons Network

Includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. A large part of this database includes articles on social and behavioral sciences.

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) Mixed abstract and full-text.

ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

Government, Politics & Law Collection (TRIAL) For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text. Trial database, give us your feedback!

Includes access to these journals: Developments in Mental Health Law, Psychiatry, Psychology and Law, and Journal of Mental Health Law.  This trial ends on 3/14/2018. If you find this collection or any individual databases useful, please let us know.

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.

ProQuest Psychology Journals For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Additionally, ProQuest Psychology Journals includes 4,000 full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines inlcuding behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology. Dissertation content is available for the years spanning 2000 through 2006

PsycARTICLES For current UWest patrons only.

This database offers full-text articles from over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.

PubMed Central Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Access via UWest to link to UWest full-text databases.

SafetyLit Abstract only.

"SafetyLit provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm."

Social Care Online Mixed abstract and full-text.

The UK's largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work. Updated daily resources include legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, reports, journal articles and websites. Links to full text are also included where available.

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Clinician's Trauma Update Online (CTU-Online)

CTU-Online includes brief updates on the latest clinically relevant research on trauma. Hosted by the US Department of Veterans Affairs.

Related Videos

Core Concepts in Psychology Series For current UWest patrons only.

"This informative and useful 7-part series will answer questions on a variety of important aspects that students find challenging when studying psychology."

Discovering Psychology For current UWest patrons only.

"Highlighting major new developments in the field as of 2001, this edition surveys the major areas of psychology, explains the scientific method of gathering and evaluating evidence about the causes of behavior, and shows how psychological knowledge can be applied to improve the quality of life."