Religion Databases
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
Religion Databases
Find Articles and Reports
(TRIAL) Brill Books and Journals Online 
⚖️ The trial includes access to all Brill ebooks & ejournals. Let us know what you think about this trial. Access ends 12/31.
Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences.
Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All. A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.
ATLA Digital Library
The items found in the Atla Digital Library are of importance to those with an interest in researching, studying, teaching, and otherwise searching for historical and archival content in religion and theology.
CiNii 
Find academic articles published in Japanese academic journals. Includes articles from Buddhist studies journals.
INBUDS: Indian and Buddhist Studies Treatise Database
Bibliographic database of Buddhism related articles & books published in Japan. Includes articles in many languages, including English.
Index Theologicus
"...a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links."
JSTOR (Collection I-VII) 
Contains articles from journals such as The Journal of Religion, Journal of the American Academy of Religion, and Religion and American Culture. Non-UWest users can access certain articles in the Register and Read program.
PhilPapers
"PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers."
ProQuest Religion
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
ProQuest Research Library (All ProQuest)
Indexes more than 2,500 magazine and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Interfaces available for many languages. Includes all ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest PsycTests, PsycARTICLES, and Dissertation/Thesis Abstracts.
Religion & Public Life from Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center provides survey datasets and articles on the topic of religion and public life all around the world.
Semantic Scholar
This search engine can help you "home in on key publications, citation, and results..." on your topic. Once you hone in an article, there are automatic recommendations to other related citations, sorted by influence.
South Asia Research Documentation Services 3 (SARDS3) 
"...an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc."
Southeast Asian Archaeology Bibliographic Database
"...an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc."
Find Images
Find Definitions and Summaries
Database of Religious History
"...the world’s first comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history." Select the 'browse' link to begin your search.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources with indices to other major Buddhist dictionaries. Unlimited search available via link above.
- Non-UWest patrons can login with "guest" (limited to 10 searches per day)
- Android app: DDB Access (unlimited search does not work off campus, use 'guest' to make up to 10 searches)
Encyclopedia of Religion
This is the online version of the second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia (physical version also available: http://uwest.worldcat.org/oclc/56057973). Comes with searchable full text entries, with information intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by The University of Tennessee at Martin.
Oxford Bibliographies for Buddhism
Provides concise overviews and annotated bibliographies for Buddhism related topics. Access the bibliographies by browsing through an alphabetical list, using the 'Jump To' shortcut, or searching with keywords.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by Stanford University.
