English Literature Databases
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
English Literature Databases
Find Definitions and Summaries
Find Articles and Reports
Gale Biography in Context 
Find biographies, full text articles, pictures, and bibliographies about prominent figures of industry and culture, including artists, writers, actors, politicians, educators, and more. Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.
JSTOR (Collection I-VII) 
Contains articles from journals such as College English, College Composition and Communication, and American Literature. Non-UWest users can access certain articles in the Register and Read program.
LitFinder
Over 140,000 full-text poems, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 1,700 full-text plays, and 2,400 full-text speeches.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes access to the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
