History Of The United States

History of the United States

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

American History For current UWest patrons only. Trial database, give us your feedback!

Trial expires: 6/15/2020. Use User Name: distancelearning, Password:  trial

HeinOnline Gun Regulation and Legislation in America For current UWest patrons only.

Gun regulation in the United States is arguably among the most controversial and heavily-debated topics in American history. The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution states: A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

JSTOR (Arts & Science I-VII Collection) Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Contains articles from journals such as The Journal of American History, The American Journal of Archaeology and of the History of the Fine Arts, and Reviews in American History.

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Primary sources: documents, recordings, and artifacts.

Slavery in America and the World For current UWest patrons only.

This database contains "a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery."

Statistics

GSS Data Explorer

"Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society."

Monroe Work Today

A visualization of mob executions of people of color in the United States from 1835-1964, includes bibliographical references.

US Census

Including data about the American people and economy. The first US census was taken in 1790.

Guides

Constitution Annotated

Read About the Constitution in Plain English: The Constitution Annaotated provides a comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time and is now available on this new site with upgraded search capabilities. The online Constitution Annotated includes discussions of the Supreme Court’s latest opinions.

Related Videos

Boom: America—The Story of Us For current UWest patrons only.

"...looks at those developments and traces the significance of World War I, prohibition, African-American migration from the South to northern cities, and the origin and growth of the Hollywood film industry."

Bust: America—The Story of Us For current UWest patrons only.

"On October 29th, 1929, the boom era of the Jazz Age came to a crashing halt on Wall Street. The dramatic effects of the Great Depression and New Deal are the main topics of this program. Despite the country's economic collapse, major public works projects such as the Hoover Dam offered proof of the industrial and technological might of the United States - and of the undeniable abilities of the American worker."

Films on Demand: American History Videos For current UWest patrons only.

Over 1,000 online videos covering topics in American history.

Related Books

Subject Heading: United States -- History For current UWest patrons only. Physical item available at the library.

This is a list of items in the UWest catalog with the subject heading United States -- History.

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)