History Of China

Guides for History

General History
History of China
History of Korea
History of the United States
History of South Asia
History of Japan

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

History of China

Classic Texts

A Mencius Reader: For Beginning and Advanced Students of Classical Chinese.
Chinese Text Project

An online digital library that makes pre-modern (pre-Qin and Han, post-Han) Chinese texts available online. Includes annotations, overlayed dictionary entries, references, English translations, and more.

Ming Qing Women's Writings

A digitized collection of writings from women in late imperial China (1368-1911).

Guides

Asia for Educator

Includes resources for studies on East Asia. Navigate by theme or time period.

China Unofficial Archives 中国民间档案馆

"This site is dedicated to making accessible the key documents, movies, blogs, and publications of a movement of Chinese people seeking to reclaim their country's history."

Early Republican Period - Present For current UWest patrons only.

A brief overview of Chinese history from the early republican period (1912) to present.

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

China Biographical Database Individual registration required.
ChinaKnowledge.de: An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art

Edited by Dr. U. Theobald, Senior Lecturer, Department of Chinese Studies, University of Tübingen, Germany.

Chinese Civilization in Time and Space Abstract only.

Enables search of historical place names in Chinese history.

Chinese-English Dictionary of Ming Government Official Titles 明代職官中英辭典
Database for Official Titles of Qing Dynasty 清代職官資料庫
Resource List for the Study of Buddhism in China, 1850-1949 Abstract only.
Southeast Asia in the Ming Shi-lu

An English translation of the Ming Shi-lu, which can be searched and browsed by year.

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)