A-Z Resource List & FAQs
Find » Databases

⚖️ The trial includes access to all Brill ebooks & ejournals.  Let us know what you think about this trial. Access ends 12/31.

Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences.

Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All.  A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.

⚖️ The trial includes access to all Brill ebooks & ejournals.  Let us know what you think about this trial. Access ends 12/31.

Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences.

Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All.  A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.

⚖️ The trial includes access to all Brill ebooks & ejournals.  Let us know what you think about this trial. Access ends 12/31.

Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences.

Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All.  A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.

⚖️ The trial includes access to all Brill ebooks & ejournals.  Let us know what you think about this trial. Access ends 12/31.

Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences.

Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All.  A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.

⚖️ De Grutyer is an academic publisher of all topics. Let us know what you think of the trial. Access ends 12/31.

⚖️ De Grutyer is an academic publisher of all topics. Let us know what you think of the trial. Access ends 12/31.

⚖️ De Grutyer is an academic publisher of all topics. Let us know what you think of the trial. Access ends 12/31.

Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Contains more than twenty databases originated from Academia Sinica in Taiwan and its various institutes.

Find citations for information on agricultural science and technology.

The items found in the Atla Digital Library are of importance to those with an interest in researching, studying, teaching, and otherwise searching for historical and archival content in religion and theology.

A multidisciplinary search engine to find scholarly materials. Developed by Bielefeld University in Germany.

Search for articles within over 290 open access and peer-reviewed journals from the subjects of biology and medicine. Journals are published by Springer Nature, a scientific and scholarly publishing company.

Preprint server for biology, contains articles that are unpublished but uploaded to this database to make their findings immediately available and receive feedback before submission to journals.

Preprint server for biology, contains articles that are unpublished but uploaded to this database to make their findings immediately available and receive feedback before submission to journals.

A selection of primary sources.

This database contains records for over 140,000 articles published in Chinese Buddhist Journals of the Republican Era (1911-1949). These are all articles collected in the Minguo fojiao qikan wenxian jicheng 民國佛教期刊文獻集成, (Complete Collection of Republican-Era Buddhist Periodical Literature) (MFQ), and its supplement the Minguo fojiao qikan wenxian jicheng bubian 民國佛教期刊文獻集成．補編, (MFQB).

An online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world.

Find academic articles published in Japanese academic journals. Includes articles from Buddhist studies journals.

Find academic articles published in Japanese academic journals.

This search engine covers articles from many different topics, with a focus on scientific literature.

This search engine covers articles from many different topics, with a focus on scientific literature.

"Cognitive Classics is a platform for classicists and others interested in cognitive approaches to the humanities." Two bibliographies focusing on how knowledge and thought is processed by the brain.

Aggregating the world’s open access research papers.

"...the world’s first comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history." Select the 'browse' link to begin your search.

Database of journal articles published by major Korean research institutions. Some articles are freely accessible with account registration. For items that charge fees, you may request the item from the document delivery/interlibrary loan service.

Includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. A large part of this database includes articles on social and behavioral sciences.

A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources with indices to other major Buddhist dictionaries. Unlimited search available via link above.

• Non-UWest patrons can login with "guest" (limited to 10 searches per day)
• Android app: DDB Access (unlimited search does not work off campus, use 'guest' to make up to 10 searches)

A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources with indices to other major Buddhist dictionaries. Unlimited search available via link above.

• Non-UWest patrons can login with "guest" (limited to 10 searches per day)
• Android app: DDB Access (unlimited search does not work off campus, use 'guest' to make up to 10 searches)

A joint project by University of the West and Nagarjuna Institute of Exact Methods to digitize Sanskrit Buddhist materials for scholarly use.

A database managed by the German National Library of Economics.

Contains full-text articles from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Contains full-text articles from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Contains full-text articles from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Look up thousands of different subjects and terms. Double-click on any word in an entry to check the definition.

This is the online version of the second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia (physical version also available: http://uwest.worldcat.org/oclc/56057973). Comes with searchable full text entries, with information intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.

This is the online version of the second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia (physical version also available: http://uwest.worldcat.org/oclc/56057973). Comes with searchable full text entries, with information intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.

ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

"...with more than 130 award-winning videos and 80 case studies."

Find biographies, full text articles, pictures, and bibliographies about prominent figures of industry and culture, including artists, writers, actors, politicians, educators, and more. Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.

Find biographies, full text articles, pictures, and bibliographies about prominent figures of industry and culture, including artists, writers, actors, politicians, educators, and more. Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.

Find biographies, full text articles, pictures, and bibliographies about prominent figures of industry and culture, including artists, writers, actors, politicians, educators, and more. Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.

Use the power of Google to search for books, articles, and online resources. Access via UWest to incorporate our full text database resources.

👩‍🏫 Short 5 min. tutorial on accessing library resources with Google Scholar: PDF, Video. If you encounter an error such as "ERROR for site owner: Invalid domain for site key" or any of the other functions/features of Google Scholar, then use the personalized Google Scholar setup instead.

Non-Uwest patrons: Alternative access.

This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records.

Specializing in the analysis of laws related to social justice topics such as

• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law,
• Gun Regulation and Legislation in America,
• Civil Rights and Social Justice,
• Open Society Justice Initiative,
• LGBTQ+ Rights.

A database which indexes Chinese/English journal articles published in Hong Kong.