General Sociology

Guides for Sociology

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

To chat below, provide your contact info first in case of disconnection.

General Sociology

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

ACLS Humanities Ebooks (TRIAL) For current UWest patrons only. Trial database, give us your feedback!

ACLS Humanities E-Book HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of 5,153 books of high quality in the humanities and humanistic social sciences. These titles are recommended by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies. Users may also access online book reviews from the major journals. This trial ends on 6/30/2018. If you find this collection or any individual databases useful, please let us know.

Academic Search Elite For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

This database contains full text for more than 2,100 core academic journals for various topics.

Brill Books and Journals Online For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences. A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.

Digital Commons Network

Includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. A large part of this database includes articles on social and behavioral sciences.

IssueLab

"Collecting, connecting, and sharing knowledge about critical social issues." Includes gray literature such as policy papers, reports, and proceedings.

OSF Preprints Mixed abstract and full-text.

A preprint network that contains articles from various subjects that are unpublished but uploaded to preprint servers to make their findings immediately available and receive feedback before submission to journals.

Pew Research Center

"...a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."

Popline Mixed abstract and full-text.

Search and research the world's reproductive health literature.

ProQuest Research Library For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

This database includes articles from journals such as Contemporary SociologyEconomics & SociologyQualitative Sociology, etc.

Social Science Research Network Mixed abstract and full-text.

This database includes published articles, preprints (unpublished articles made immediately available online to receive feedback before submission to journals), working papers, and other grey literature. Research network subscriptions and follow features may require personal accounts. 

Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

Video Databases

Films on Demand: Sociology Videos For current UWest patrons only.

Over 3,000 online videos on various topics related to sociology. Use the filters on the right to filter through the list.

Statistics

GSS Data Explorer

"Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society."

News

Google Public Data

Using public datasets and metrics from the US Census, World Bank, IMF, WTO and various international organizations, Google Public Data Explorer makes it easy to visualize comparisons of statistics between various countries.

The Society Pages

"...presenting brief discussions of compelling and timely imagery that span the breadth of sociological inquiry."

Related Reports

Internet Trends Report

Since 2004, the Meeker Internet Trends report has looked at the global trends of internet use.

Observatory on Social Media

Research reports and papers on the use of social media, with emphasis on bots and misinformation.