Databases (Find Articles and Reports)
Research in Ministry is a thesis and dissertation abstract database. Users can search graduate works related to ministry, theology and religion.
Use the power of Google to search for books, articles, and online resources. Access via UWest to incorporate our full text database resources.
👩🏫 Accessing library resources with Google Scholar: PDF, Video.
Specializing in the analysis of laws related to social justice topics such as
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law,
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America,
- Civil Rights and Social Justice,
- Open Society Justice Initiative,
- LGBTQ+ Rights.
"...a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links."
Psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Including measurements on PTSD.
💁🏼 Watch this short APA video tutorial.
This database offers full-text articles from over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
"SafetyLit provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm."
The UK's largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work. Updated daily resources include legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, reports, journal articles and websites.
Some 'free' (filter on left hand side after search) full text access is available with individual account registration.
"Our more than 5,000 member chaplains and affiliates are involved in chaplaincy care of all persons, respecting their diverse cultures, identities, abilities and beliefs."
"...a multicultural, multifaith organization devoted to providing education and improving the quality of ministry and pastoral care offered by spiritual caregivers of all faiths."
English Buddhist Canon
Full text downloads of the BDK Tripitaka Translation Series. Click on a title and scroll down for the blue PDF download button.
This database enables searching of keywords through the text of the BDK Tripitaka Translation Series.
Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources with indices to other major Buddhist dictionaries. Unlimited search available via link above.
- Non-UWest patrons can login with "guest" (limited to 10 searches per day)
- Android app: DDB Access (unlimited search does not work off campus, use 'guest' to make up to 10 searches)
This is the online version of the second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia (physical version also available: http://uwest.worldcat.org/oclc/56057973). Comes with searchable full text entries, with information intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.
A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by The University of Tennessee at Martin.
A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by Stanford University.