English Databases

English Databases


The following recommended resources are not necessarily all peer-reviewed. Check item entry or publisher for status.

Find Articles and Reports

Academic Search Elite For current UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Includes full text articles from journals such as English Literary Renaissance, etc.

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) Mixed abstract and full-text.

ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

Gale Biography in Context For current UWest patrons only.

Find biographies, full text articles, pictures, and bibliographies about prominent figures of industry and culture, including artists, writers, actors, politicians, educators, and more. Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.

JSTOR Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only. Mixed abstract and full-text.

Contains articles from journals such as College English, College Composition and Communication, and American Literature. Non-UWest users can access certain articles in the Register and Read program.

LitFinder For current UWest patrons only.

Over 140,000 full-text poems, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 1,700 full-text plays, and 2,400 full-text speeches.

Literature Resource Center For current UWest patrons only.

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes access to the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Find Definitions and Summaries

Encyclopedia Britannica For current UWest patrons only.

Contains full-text articles from Encyclopedia Britannica.